Blogia
365 Days at Peking

The World of Suzie Wong

The World of Suzie Wong 1 de Diciembre de 2005 (Hong Kong)

 

Suzie Wong era una completa desconocida para mi hasta hace bien poco. Empecé a oir hablar de ella cuando llegué a Hong Kong. Probablemente porque es una de las pocas películas rodadas en la isla que no tiene nada que ver con Bruce Lee y el kung fu.

Como suele ocurrir con las novelas adaptadas al cine, el libro siempre es mejor. Es más descriptivo y te deja mejor sabor de boca. La película, sin embargo, también tiene su encanto, tanto por las imágenes del Hong Kong de aquella época como por
Nancy Kwan, que interpreta a la descarada Suzie.

“Yes, virgin – that’s me”
She said pointing to herself with a red finger nail.

I burst out laughing”


El libro cuenta la historia de Mee-Ling, que llega al Hong Kong colonial de los años 50 buscando salir de una vida miserable en Shanghai. El dinero fácil se encuentra bailando en los clubs y de chica de compañía, así que Mee-Ling se convierte al final en una prostituta, Suzie Wong. Pero Suzie es guapa, coqueta y con mucho carácter. Está acostumbrada a que todos los hombres la deseen. Y se topa con Richard Lomax en Wanchai, que no viene a Hong Kong en busca de compañía, sino a encontrar inspiración para pintar.

[Richard Lomax to Suzie] “Anyhow, let’s have some lunch”
“No”
I laughed. “I’m not letting you off this time. I’ve learnt my lesson”
She eyed me suspiciously. “Why you want to invite me?” “Why?
Well, I don’t know. I suppose because I rather like you”
“No - you lie”
“Really? And how do you know if I like you or not?”
“You like Mee-ling. You like that virgin-girl on the boat. But I’m Suzie. I do dirty job. Go upstairs with sailors”
“That doesn’t stop you feeling hungry?” I said. “Come on, what shall we eat?”
“Six years! Six years I go with men - make ‘lovey’”. She used the pidging expression to make it sound worse.
[…] “Yes – chinese smooth skin. So you can’t see how much dirty inside.”
“Oh, stop it Suzie! Come on, I want to try a new dish – what do you recommend?”
“I don’t know. I go now” “Suzie, sit down”
“No, I got my job to do. I got to make ‘lovey-lovey’. You go and find Mee-ling – go and find virgin-girl”
And she went off and sat down with an American Negro sailor who had just come into the bar.
 
Pero lo mejor de todo es que mientras leo, puedo imaginar por dónde caminan los personajes, el olor de las calles, el trayecto del Star Ferry a Tsim Sha Tsui y el ambiente del Nam Kok. Porque esa parte de Hong Kong sigue existiendo. Porque yo ahora vivo aquí, cerca del Star Ferry Pier de Wanchai ("It’s very noisy... no Europeans live in Wanchai - only Chinese") Y me he metido sin quererlo en el mundo de Suzie Wong.

 

 

4 comentarios

Jordan Flight 45 -

As you say, good people with schooling for all-around growth is a perfect blend. Now individuals are pretty much cannot resist the temptation from moolah. They gain income as a result of various solutions. I'm so sad to see that.

supra footwear -

Life find its wealth by the claims of the world, and its worth by the claims of love.

Nike Dunk Sb -

Just shows that writing via practical knowledge brings so considerably depth and relevance to kinds readers. Thank you for sharing.

surscrd -

Maravillosa y emotiva película.